BJP’s Himanta Sarma Challenges 48-Hour Campaign Ban In Gauhati High Court

Himanta Biswa Sarma is the BJP’s ballot strategist for the continuing Assam Assembly election (File)


Assam minister and senior BJP chief Himanta Biswa Sarma – who final evening was given a 48-hour ban on campaigning – has challenged the Election Commission’s order within the Gauhati High Court.

The listening to is predicted to happen in a while.

The ballot physique issued its order after it upheld a grievance by the Congress; the get together mentioned Mr Sarma had brazenly threatened to ship Hagrama Mohilary – whose BPF (Bodoland People’s Front) is a member of the opposition alliance – to jail by misusing the NIA (National Investigation Agency).

The interval of the ban successfully meant Mr Sarma – who’s the BJP’s primary ballot strategist and has been listed as a ‘star campaigner’ – might now not marketing campaign on this Assembly election.

Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala had welcomed the ban and mentioned Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP chief JP Nadda and others ought to be equally barred.

“EC barring Himanta Biswa Sarma from campaigning for 48 hours proves BJP has lost polls and is resorting to tactics to influence polls… should also bar Narendra Modi, Amit Shah, Sarbananda Sonowal and JP Nadda, who were shown in ads in Assam’s newspapers, for free and fair polls,” he informed information company ANI.

Mr Surjewala additionally referred to the incident at Assam’s Ratabari, the place officers had been discovered to be transporting an EVM (digital voting machine) in a BJP candidate’s automotive.

After an inquiry, the 4 officers concerned had been suspended and repolling ordered. Mr Surjewala known as for the arrest of these officers; “only then a fair election can be ensured,” he mentioned.

On Thursday the ballot physique had issued a show-cause notice to Mr Sarma, to which he replied on Friday. Unfortunately for him, the reason was deemed “not satisfactory”.

Mr Mohilary was once an ally of the BJP, but switched to the Congress after the BJP joined fingers with the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) to type Bodoland Territorial Council in December.

The election to the 126-member Assam Assembly has been unfold over three phases with 77.2 per cent of the voters exercising their franchise in 39 constituencies within the second section on April 1. In the primary section on March 27 round 76 per cent of voters in 30 constituencies solid their vote.

The third and ultimate section can be held on April 6, with votes to be counted on May 2.

With enter from ANI

You may also like

More in:India

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *