Chaitra Navratri Dates: Harvest And New Year Festivals Of States In April

Chaitra Navratri: Check out the dates for Baisakhi, Poila Boishakh, Vishu, Bihu, Puthandu, Pana Sankranti

Chaitra Navratri or Vasant Navratri throughout the spring season in India is a really auspicious time. The month of Chaitra, based on the Hindu calendar, falls largely in end-March and April when the air is crisp and pleased with vibrant spring flowers. Chaitra Navratri and Shardiya Navratri relate to the altering of seasons and sowing and harvesting of crops. Mesha Sankranti in mid-April marks the start of the standard New Year within the states like Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Odisha, Punjab, West Bengal and Assam. On this present day, the Sun enters the Aries zodiac signal or Mesha rashi. Let’s check out the New Year dates subsequent week.

The significance of Mesha Sankranti

Sankranti or the transition of the Sun from one zodiac signal to a different could be very well-liked and is noticed with nice devotion in India. Hindu devotees consider Sankranti is a really auspicious time for everybody. People distribute meals to the needy and likewise pray for his or her ancestors.


2021 Chaitra Navratri begins on April 13

When Is Baisakhi, Poila Boishakh, Vishu, Rongali Bihu, Puthandu and Pana Sankranti

  • Vishu 2021: Kerala celebrates Vishu on 14th April. The Sankranti second on Vishu Kani is 2:48 AM 
  • Baisakhi 2021: Punjab celebrates Baisakhi on 14th April. The Sankranti second is 2:48 AM
  • Poila Boisakh 2021: West Bengal welcomes the New Year on fifteenth April. The Sankranti second begins at 2:48 AM on April 14
  • Pana Sankranti 2021: Odisha celebrates the New Year on 14th April 
  • Rongali Bihu 2021: Rongali or Bohag Bihu is the Assamese New Year celebrated for every week marking the vernal equinox. 
  • Puthandu 2021: In Tamil Nadu, Puthandu also called Varusha Pirappu is noticed on the primary day of the Tamil month Chithirai.

All the above conventional Hindu New Year festivities, throughout Chaitra Navratri, welcome the spring season and folks pray for a wealthy harvest. The 9 avatars or types of Navdurga are worshipped on Chaitra Navratri, which culminates in Ram Navami. According to scriptures, Ram Navami is the day when Lord Ram was born.

You may also like

More in:India

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *