COVID-19: PSL 6 franchises request PCB to host remainder of tournament in UAE

Pakistan Super League (PSL) franchises have requested the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to stage the remaining matches of the present version of the showpiece occasion in UAE as a substitute of Karachi amid the recent surge in coronavirus instances in the nation.

PSL six was postponed after a string of COVID-19 cases had been reported in March this 12 months. The tournament will now resume on June 1 with the ultimate scheduled for June 20.

According to a report in ESPNcricinfo, all six groups have despatched a letter to PCB and the board is reviewing the present scenario. For now, the franchises will assemble in Karachi by May 23 to begin the necessary seven-day isolation.

Last month, the Board of Governors (BoG) of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) met by means of a digital convention name and the board acquired a presentation and an replace on the report of the two-person fact-finding panel that was set-up by the PCB chairman to evaluation the bio-security protocols, bylaws, and preparations for the PSL.

After the date of resumption of PSL six was revealed, the groups participated in a substitute draft to fill in the gaps as many abroad cricketers had pulled out of the showpiece occasion.

Bangladesh star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, New Zealand opener Martin Guptill and Andre Russell are set to characteristic in the remaining matches of the PSL six for Lahore Qalandars, Karachi Kings, and Quetta Gladiators respectively as their names had been submitted as substitute choose in a web-based session held with the franchise representatives.

PSL 6 overseas replacements:

Islamabad United: Usman Khawaja replaces Alex Hales, Janneman Malan replaces Lewis Gregory.

Karachi Kings: Martin Guptill replaces Colin Ingram, Thisara Perera replaces Mohammad Nabi, Najeebullah Zadran replaces Dan Christian, Litton Das replaces Joe Clarke

Lahore Qalandars: Shakib-al-Hasan replaces Rashid Khan, James Faulkner replaces David Wiese, Joe Burns replaces Samit Patel, Callum Fergusson replaces Tom Abell, Seekuge Prasana replaces Joe Denly

Multan Sultans: Mahmudullah Riyad replaces Chris Lynn, Rahmanullah Gurbaz replaces James Vince, George Linde replaces Adam Lyth, Obed McCoy replaces Carlos Brathwaite

Peshawar Zalmi: Fabian Allen replaces Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Rovman Powell replaces Liam Livingstone, Fidel Edwards replaces Saqib Mahmood

Quetta Gladiators: Andre Russell replaces Tom Banton

You may also like

More in:Sports

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *