Devon Conway included in New Zealand Test squad for England tour | Cricket News – Times of India

WELLINGTON: South African-born batsman Devon Conway was one of three uncapped gamers named in New Zealand’s 20-man Test squad for the upcoming tour of England on Thursday.
Conway, who was cleared to play for the Black Caps on residential grounds final August, was joined in the squad for the matches at Lord’s and Edgbaston in June by all-rounder Rachin Ravindra and swing bowler Jacob Duffy.
The squad might be whittled down to fifteen gamers forward of the World Test Championship ultimate towards India on the Rose Bowl in Southampton later in June, New Zealand Cricket stated.
Conway has compelled his manner into the worldwide reckoning with a torrent of runs since shifting to New Zealand in 2017 and notched up his maiden one-day worldwide century towards Bangladesh in Wellington final month.
The 29-12 months-previous left-handed batsman was solely assured of a spot in the squad final week after securing his everlasting residency, with out which he wouldn’t have been in a position to return to New Zealand after the tour.
Conway is the probably of the three uncapped gamers to make their Test debut on the tour with Kane Williamson‘s staff in wonderful kind over the house summer season with collection sweeps over West Indies and Pakistan.
Ravindra, who combines high or center order batting with left-arm finger spin, is simply 21, whereas Duffy must pressure his manner right into a high class bowling assault.
Paceman Doug Bracewell has been recalled nearly 5 years after his final Test however should show he has recovered from a hip harm earlier than he will get on the airplane.
“Doug is a match winner and we’re confident he’ll enjoy bowling on English pitches in June,” stated coach Gary Stead.
All-rounder Colin De Grandhomme can even have a health take a look at earlier than the squad departs after present process ankle surgical procedure in March, as will batsman Ross Taylor after a hamstring harm dominated him out of two of the ODIs towards Bangladesh final month.
Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young.

You may also like

More in:Sports

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *