Karnataka beat Vidarbha by 4 runs to qualify for Syed Mushtaq Ali final | Cricket News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Karnataka defeated Vidarbha by 4 runs in an exciting semifinal to enter the summit conflict of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy nationwide T20 event right here on Saturday.
Asked to bat on the Arun Jaitley stadium, Karnataka rode on Rohan Kadam‘s blistering 87 off 56 balls to put up a aggressive 176 for seven after which restricted the opposition to 172 for six with proper-arm pacer Vidyadhar Patil (1/29) holding his nerve within the final over.

Patil had to defend 14 runs and the speedster ensured that his facet would face defending champions Tamil Nadu within the summit conflict.
Karnataka openers Kadam and skipper (*4*) (54 off 42 balls) gave the facet an aggressive begin as they toyed with the Vidarbha assault.
The duo took on pacers Darshan Nalkande (4/28), Yash Thakur (1/35) and Lalit Yadav (2/36) to sew 132 runs for the primary wicket.
Kadam was the extra aggressive one, whereas Pandey performed the second fiddle as they introduced up the staff’s fifty in simply 5.1 overs.
Left-arm-orthodox spinner Akshay Karnewar, who has been economical, conceded 5 runs in his first over at the same time as Karnataka raced to 53/0 after the facility play.
While Kadam hammered seven fours and 4 maximums, Pandey struck two fours and three sixes as they took the Vidarbha assault to cleansers.
However, Lalit Yadav broke the stand after eradicating Kadam within the sixteenth over, however by then the injury had already been finished.
Lalit struck once more, this time eradicating Pandey, who was caught by Akshay Wakhare.
Karun Nair (5) additionally fell cheaply however a fast-hearth 13-ball-27 by Abhinav Manohar propelled Karnataka previous the 170-run mark.
Darshan Nalkande wreaked havoc within the center-order by taking 4 wickets in fours balls within the final over, nevertheless it was too little and too late
Chasing a formidable 177, Vidarbha openers Atharva Taide (32) and Ganesh Satish (31) added 43 for the primary wicket.
But Karnataka pegged again the opposition by dismissing the highest 4 batters to depart Vidarbha tottering at 103 for 4.
Medium pacer Darshan MB then despatched again Jitesh Sharma (12) as Vidarbha misplaced half its facet for 122.
But some late hitting by Apoorv Wankhede (27 not out off 22 balls) and Karnewar (22 off 12 balls) meant Vidarbha wanted 14 off the final over as they took the sport deep.
But pacer Patil dashed Vidarbha’s hopes, dismissing Karnewar within the first ball of the final over after which held his nerve to see his facet house.
Brief Scores:
Karnataka 176 for 7 in 20 overs (Rohan Kadam 87, Manish Pandey 54; Darshan Nalkande 4/28, Lalit Yadav 2/36) beat Vidarbha 172 for 6 in 20 overs (Atharva Taide 32, Ganesh Satish 31; KC Cariappa 2/27, Karun Nair 1/10) by 4 runs.

You may also like

More in:Sports

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *