Mamata Banerjee vs Suvendu Adhikari As Bengal Votes In 2nd Phase Tomorrow

Nandigram will see 2 political heavyweights – Mamata Banerjee and Suvendu Adhikari – contest one another


The stage is ready for the second part of meeting ballot in West Bengal tomorrow when greater than 75 lakh voters will resolve the destiny of 191 candidates in 30 seats as eyes are set on the excessive profile Nandigram constituency the place Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is pitted in opposition to her protege-turned-adversary Suvendu Adhikari.

All 10,620 cubicles the place polling can be held this part have been declared as delicate by the Election Commission, which has deployed round 651 firms of central forces to offer safety, officers mentioned.

The state police can even be deployed at strategic areas throughout the polling which can start at 7 am, they mentioned.

A complete 199 firms of Central Armed Police Force can be deployed in Purba Medinipur, 210 firms in Paschim Medinipur, 170 in South 24 Parganas and 72 in Bankura, the sources mentioned.

Trinamool and BJP are contesting in all of the 30 seats, whereas CPI(M) is contesting in 15 and its alliance companions of Sanjukta Morcha the Congress and ISF are competing in 13 and two seats respectively.

Polling will happen amid strict COVID-19 tips in 9 seats of Paschim Medinipur, eight in Bankura, 4 seats in South 24 Parganas and 9 in Purba Medinipur – the house floor of TMC turncoat and BJP chief Suvendu Adhikari. Nandigram falls in Purba Medinipur district.

The agrarian constituency which shook the foundations of the mighty Left regime over the anti-land acquisition motion in 2007, has now was a battleground of titans with Mamata Banerjee immediately deciding to modify from her Bhowanipur seat to Nandigram held by Suvendu Adhikari, her former lieutenant who has switched loyalty to the BJP.

For Suvendu Adhikari it’s a battle for political survival as a defeat could be a devastating blow and may additionally put a query mark on his political graph in his new occasion the BJP. Similarly, a victory wouldn’t solely set up him as one of many tallest leaders in Bengal however would additionally push him few miles forward of others within the chief ministerial race in case the BJP is voted to energy.

For Mamata Banerjee, who’s operating for the third successive time period as Chief Minister, a victory is a should to guide the federal government and maintain collectively her occasion, which is confronted with exodus.

For the Congress-Left-ISF alliance candidate Minakshi Mukherjee of CPI-M, the problem is to regain her occasion’s misplaced floor.

While Mamata Banerjee had been tenting in Nandigram for the final 4 days, BJP fielded its ‘large weapons’, together with Home Minister Amit Shah, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and famous person Mithun Chakraborty to defend Suvendu Adhikari’s turf, which he had gained in 2016 and tackle `Didi’ (as Mamata Banerjee is popularly known as).

Apart from identification politics and Bengali sub-nationalism, the demand for jobs, inclusion of Hindu backward communities within the OBC class and organising of agro-based business have emerged as essential ballot planks within the second part of polls.

1 Of the 30 seats which can see voting tomorrw, 23 had been gained by Trinamool within the 2016 meeting elections, 5 by Left Front and Congress and BJP one every.

The political equation within the state had modified in 2019 when BJP made huge inroads within the tribal-dominated Janga Mahal area and Medinipur belt by sweeping all of the 5 Lok Sabha seats. The Trinamool nonetheless, has been capable of keep its dominance in South 24 Parganas district, the place there’s sizeable minority inhabitants.

A distinguished seat going to the ballot within the second part is Sabang, the place Trinamool has fielded its Rajya Sabha MP Manas Bhunia. He is up in opposition to Trinamool turncoat and BJP chief Amulya Maity.

Mr Bhunia, a former state Congress president, had held the seat from 1982 to 016 as Congress nominee earlier than switching over to the Trinamool in September 2016.

Trinamool has fielded actor Sayantika Banerjee, a well-liked face within the Bengali silver display screen, from Bankura seat in opposition to BJP’s Niladri Sekhar Dana. The Sanjukta Morcha has fielded Congress candidate Radharani Banerjee.

In Debra seat, two former IPS officers will cross swords. One is BJP candidate Bharati Ghosh who’s contesting in opposition to TMC’s Humayun Kabir. Both had resigned from their senior police posts to affix lively politics.

Mamata Banerjee, who’s in a wheelchair since her accident early this moth, crisscrossed nearly all of the constituencies going to the polls within the second part. TMC MP Abhishek Banerjee toured the remaining asserting that TMC is not going to let Bengal to be dominated from Delhi or Gujarat in an obvious reference to the battery of central BJP leaders and ministers tenting within the state.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP nationwide president JP Nadda had led BJP’s marketing campaign from the entrance addressing rallies at Kanthi, Bankura and Nandigram and urging the citizens to vote for BJP to usher in ‘ashol poriborton’ (precise change) to construct ‘Sonar Bangla’ (affluent Bengal).

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV workers and is printed from a syndicated feed.)

You may also like

More in:India

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *