On this day: Kapil Dev’s Team India became World Champions for the first time in 1983

The day June 25, 1983 might be etched in each Indian cricket lover’s reminiscence without end because it was the day when India became World Champions for the first time by profitable the 1983 World Cup. Led by the legendary all-rounder Kapil Dev, India shocked two-time defending champions West Indies at the well-known ultimate at Lord’s to script a brand new period in Indian cricket. No one fancied India would win the crown in 1983 with India up towards the mighty Windies crew led by Clive Lloyd.

The West Indies crew legends like openers Gordon Greenidge, Desmond Haynes adopted by grasp blaster Vivian Richards and skipper Lloyd with Larry Gomes coming in the center. The bowling assault comprised of Malcolm Marshall, Sir Andy Roberts, Joel Garner, and Michael Holding – all true quick bowling greats.

After profitable the toss, Lloyd requested India to have a bat first. India misplaced opener Sunil Gavaskar with solely two runs on the board. Though Kris Srikkanth and Mohinder Amarnath tried to stabilise the innings, the wickets stored falling with India finally getting bowled out for a modest 183 from 54.4 overs out of their regulation 60 overs.

At the change of innings, hardly anybody would have given Kapil Dev’s facet any probability in the recreation. Greenidge was first to go, getting bowled to an in-swinging supply by Balwinder Sandhu. Vivian Richards got here in subsequent in an attacking temper, scoring seven boundaries in his innings of 33. However, a miscued shot off all-rounder Madan Lal was caught beautifully by Kapil Dev running backwards.

All-rounder Roger Binny then bought the all-important wicket of Clive Lloyd leaving West India at 66/5, nonetheless requiring 117 runs extra. West Indies tried to make a comeback with Jeff Dujon and Malcolm Marshall stitching a 43-run partnership, however had been finally bowled out for 140. India had achieved the unattainable and received the match by 43 runs.

It took one other 28 years for India to repeat World Cup glory, this time led by MS Dhoni towards Sri Lanka in 2011 in entrance of the Indian crowd at Wankhede.

You may also like

More in:Sports

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *