Voting begins in West Bengal, Assam for 2nd phase of elections: Top developments | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Voting for the second phase of the Assembly elections in Assam and West Bengal started on Thursday.
The candidates from 30 constituencies in West Bengal and 39 constituencies in Assam are in the fray for the election to the state meeting.
Here are the important thing factors:
Mahua Moitra alleges over 150 EVMs malfunctioned in Bengal phase II polls
Trinamool Congress (TMC) MP Mahua Moitra on Thursday alleged that over 150 Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) are malfunctioning because the second phase of the West Bengal Assembly elections started on Thursday.
Taking to Twitter, she made a snide comment in the direction of the Election Commission of India (ECI), saying that it may have put half as a lot effort into guaranteeing no EVM glitches because it did into transferring police officers.
Assam has proven crimson card to lies of Congress: PM Modi
Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday mentioned Assam has given the “red card” to the lies of Congress.
At a rally in Kakrajhar on Thursday, PM mentioned folks of state have proven Congress-led alliance a ‘crimson card’, utilizing the terminology of soccer.
“People of Assam have given blessings to NDA in 1st phase of assembly poll. Peace, progress, protection is our mantra for Bodoland territorial region,” mentioned PM Modi.
Mamata will lose, claims Suvendu after casting vote
Speaking to reporters after casting his vote in Nandigaram, Suvendu Adhikary mentioned that he was assured that Mamata Banerjee will lose the polls.
“I have a very old relationship with the people of the area. I have a personal relationship with almost every person in Nandigram. Pretty confident that I will win the election,” Adhikari mentioned.
“Entire villages have come out to vote in favour of the BJP. I will urge the people to come out early and cast their votes. There were reports of problems at some booths but those have now been solved. The polling is happening peacefully,” he mentioned.
Mamata to remain for complete day in Nandigram to watch state of affairs
West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee has determined to remain at her battle room in the Reyapara space in the course of the polls on Thursday in the Nandigram meeting constituency the place she is locked in a fierce status battle with confidante-turned-adversary Suvendu Adhikari of the BJP.
She is monitoring the state of affairs in the excessive-profile constituency.
According to the TMC sources, Banerjee, who had earlier determined to depart the realm for campaigning in North Bengal after the polling ended at 6:30 PM on Thursday, modified her plans this morning.
Fate of 191 candidates in Bengal, 345 candidates in Assam to be sealed in the present day
The Election Commission has deployed round 651 firms of central forces, other than the state police, to offer safety in West Bengal for the polling in 30 constituencies.
A complete of 210 firms of central armed police forces have been deployed in Paschim Medinipur, 199 in Purba Medinipur, 170 in South 24 Parganas and 72 in Bankura, the officers mentioned.
TMC and BJP are contesting all 30 seats, whereas the CPM is in the fray in 15 constituencies and its alliance companions Congress and ISF are combating in 13 and two seats, respectively.
In Assam, amongst these contesting the elections in this phase are 5 ministers and the deputy speaker of the outgoing House. A complete of 310 firms of safety forces have been deployed to hold out strict vigil and stop any untoward incident. Around 42,368 polling personnel have been deployed, of whom 1,516 have been dispatched two days in advance to far-flung areas, notably in Dima Hasao and East and West Karbi Anglong district.
The ruling BJP is contesting 34 seats, whereas its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) is combating in six constituencies and the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) in three.
In the ‘Mahajot’ (Grand Alliance), the Congress is contesting in 28, the AIUDF in seven and the Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF) in 4. The newly-floated Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) is contesting in 19 seats.
There is a direct contest between the NDA and the Grand Alliance in 25 seats, whereas the remainder of the constituencies are witnessing a triangular combat.
The third and remaining phase of the elections to the 40 seats shall be held on April 6. The votes shall be counted on May 2.
(With inputs from companies)

You may also like

More in:India

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *